Story: Protected areas

Specially protected areas

Specially protected areas

Specially protected areas are created because of an area’s significance for biodiversity, wilderness recreation or cultural reasons – or sometimes because of its susceptibility to damage by humans. This table shows the seven categories of specially protected area, grouped according to their conservation, wilderness protection or cultural values, and total areas for each category at 1 March 2006.

Using this item

Te Ara - The Encyclopedia of New Zealand

This item has been provided for private study purposes (such as school projects, family and local history research) and any published reproduction (print or electronic) may infringe copyright law. It is the responsibility of the user of any material to obtain clearance from the copyright holder.

Source:Department of Conservation

All images & media in this story

How to cite this page:

Les Molloy, 'Protected areas - Specially protected areas', Te Ara - the Encyclopedia of New Zealand, (accessed 22 May 2022)

Story by Les Molloy, published 24 Sep 2007, updated 1 Sep 2015