Story: Otago region

Otago region

The Otago region reaches from the Southern Alps to the South Pacific Ocean. It is bounded in the north by Canterbury and the south-west by Southland.

Using this item

Te Ara - The Encyclopedia of New Zealand

This item has been provided for private study purposes (such as school projects, family and local history research) and any published reproduction (print or electronic) may infringe copyright law. It is the responsibility of the user of any material to obtain clearance from the copyright holder.

All images & media in this story

How to cite this page:

Malcolm McKinnon, 'Otago region - Overview', Te Ara - the Encyclopedia of New Zealand, (accessed 27 January 2022)

Story by Malcolm McKinnon, updated 1 May 2015