Story: Historic earthquakes

Aftershocks, 22 February 2011 to 11 February 2012

Following the magnitude 6.3 Lyttelton earthquake on 22 February 2011 there were many aftershocks. Seismologists believe that the 22 February quake was itself an aftershock of the magnitude 7.1 earthquake centred on Darfield on 4 September 2010. At magnitude 6.3, the Lyttelton quake was so large that it generated its own series of aftershocks.

Using this item

Te Ara – The Encyclopedia of New Zealand

This item has been provided for private study purposes (such as school projects, family and local history research) and any published reproduction (print or electronic) may infringe copyright law. It is the responsibility of the user of any material to obtain clearance from the copyright holder.

Source: GeoNet

All images & media in this story

How to cite this page:

Eileen McSaveney, 'Historic earthquakes - The 2011 Christchurch earthquake', Te Ara - the Encyclopedia of New Zealand, (accessed 8 August 2020)

Story by Eileen McSaveney, published 12 Jun 2006, reviewed & revised 28 Mar 2011, updated 1 Nov 2017