Story: Fiction

New Zealand fiction award winners

Before 1996 there were two major New Zealand literary prizes, the New Zealand Book Awards (1976–95) and the Goodman Fielder Wattie Book Awards (1968–93). The Goodman Fielder Wattie awards had only a single category covering fiction and other genres, which is why they are not listed in this table every year. 

In 1994 winemaker Montana took over sponsorship of the Goodman Fielder Wattie Awards, which became the Montana Book Awards (1994–95). In 1996 the two awards merged to form the Montana New Zealand Book Awards (1996–2009). New Zealand Post sponsored the awards from 2010 to 2014. A new sponsor, property developer Ockham, was announced in 2015 with 2016 being the first year of the newly-named Ockham New Zealand Book Awards.

Using this item

Te Ara – The Encyclopedia of New Zealand

This item has been provided for private study purposes (such as school projects, family and local history research) and any published reproduction (print or electronic) may infringe copyright law. It is the responsibility of the user of any material to obtain clearance from the copyright holder.

All images & media in this story

How to cite this page:

Lydia Wevers, 'Fiction - Contemporary fiction', Te Ara - the Encyclopedia of New Zealand, (accessed 7 December 2021)

Story by Lydia Wevers, published 22 Oct 2014, updated 1 Aug 2015