Story: Composers

The glittering hosts of heaven

Eve de Castro-Robinson was commissioned by the New Zealand Symphony Orchestra (NZSO) to compose The glittering hosts of heaven. It celebrates Matariki, the Māori New Year, and was premiered at the Michael Fowler Centre, Wellington, on 14 June 2013. Pietari Inkinen conducts, and the soloists are NZSO section principals Bridget Douglas (flute), Philip Green (clarinet), David Bremner (trombone), Leonard Sakofsky (vibraphone), Vesa-Matti Leppanen (violin), Julia Joyce (viola) and Andrew Joyce (cello).

Using this item


This item has been provided for private study purposes (such as school projects, family and local history research) and any published reproduction (print or electronic) may infringe copyright law. It is the responsibility of the user of any material to obtain clearance from the copyright holder.

All images & media in this story

How to cite this page:

William Dart, 'Composers - Consolidation, 1980s onwards', Te Ara - the Encyclopedia of New Zealand, (accessed 28 November 2021)

Story by William Dart, published 22 Oct 2014