Story: Protected areas

Fiordland Marine Area (2nd of 3)

Fiordland Marine Area

The Fiordland Marine Area in the south-west of the South Island covers 928,000 hectares and includes the waters of 14 fiords. There are 10 marine reserves in the area.

Using this item

Te Ara - The Encyclopedia of New Zealand

This item has been provided for private study purposes (such as school projects, family and local history research) and any published reproduction (print or electronic) may infringe copyright law. It is the responsibility of the user of any material to obtain clearance from the copyright holder.

All images & media in this story

How to cite this page:

Les Molloy, 'Protected areas - Protected marine areas and inland waters', Te Ara - the Encyclopedia of New Zealand, (accessed 3 December 2021)

Story by Les Molloy, published 24 Sep 2007, updated 1 Sep 2015