Story: Nation and government

Māori electorates, 2004

Māori electorates, 2004

In 1867 most Māori men were given the vote. Four separate Māori seats were created. This was meant to be a temporary measure, but the seats survived and in 2004 there were seven. Any voter of Māori descent can choose whether to be on the general or the Māori roll. The concentration of the Māori population in the north is evident in the fact that six of the Māori seats are in the North Island and the seventh includes all of the South Island and the Wellington region. In 2011 there were still seven Māori seats, although the boundaries had changed since 2004.

Using this item

Te Ara - The Encyclopedia of New Zealand

This item has been provided for private study purposes (such as school projects, family and local history research) and any published reproduction (print or electronic) may infringe copyright law. It is the responsibility of the user of any material to obtain clearance from the copyright holder.

All images & media in this story

How to cite this page:

John Wilson, 'Nation and government - The electoral system', Te Ara - the Encyclopedia of New Zealand, (accessed 23 May 2022)

Story by John Wilson, updated 1 Sep 2016