Story: Marine conservation

Fiordland Marine Area (2nd of 3)

Fiordland Marine Area

The Fiordland Marine Area in the south-west of the South Island covers 928,000 hectares and includes the waters of 14 fiords. There are 10 marine reserves in the area.

Using this item

Te Ara – The Encyclopedia of New Zealand

This item has been provided for private study purposes (such as school projects, family and local history research) and any published reproduction (print or electronic) may infringe copyright law. It is the responsibility of the user of any material to obtain clearance from the copyright holder.

All images & media in this story

How to cite this page:

Gerard Hutching and Carl Walrond, 'Marine conservation - Protected areas', Te Ara - the Encyclopedia of New Zealand, (accessed 26 January 2022)

Story by Gerard Hutching and Carl Walrond, published 12 Jun 2006, updated 1 Sep 2015