Story: Rugby league

Auckland rugby league trophies

Auckland rugby league trophies

Shown here are (clockwise from top left) the Sharman Cup, the Roope Rooster, the Kiwi Shield, the Stormont Memorial Shield, the Fox Memorial Shield and the Phelan Shield. The trophies are awarded for winning at various levels. The oldest, the Fox Memorial Shield, was first presented in 1910. In the 2000s it is awarded to the grand final winner of Auckland's premier competition.

Using this item

Auckland Rugby League

This item has been provided for private study purposes (such as school projects, family and local history research) and any published reproduction (print or electronic) may infringe copyright law. It is the responsibility of the user of any material to obtain clearance from the copyright holder.

All images & media in this story

How to cite this page:

John Coffey, 'Rugby league - Domestic competition', Te Ara - the Encyclopedia of New Zealand, (accessed 4 December 2021)

Story by John Coffey, published 5 Sep 2013