Story: Anglican Church

Five Anglican bishops, 1865

Five Anglican bishops, 1865

Five bishops of the early Anglican Church in New Zealand assemble in Christchurch in 1865 for the church's General Synod (national council). They are (from left) the first Anglican Bishop, George Selwyn; the Bishop of Christchurch, Henry Harper; the Bishop of Wellington, Charles Abraham; and the Bishop of Melanesia, John Patteson. Seated in front is William Williams, the Bishop of Waiapu (East Coast).

Using this item

Alexander Turnbull Library
Reference: PAColl-10135-2

Permission of the Alexander Turnbull Library, National Library of New Zealand, Te Puna Mātauranga o Aotearoa, must be obtained before any re-use of this image.

All images & media in this story

How to cite this page:

Allan K. Davidson, 'Anglican Church - Colonial Anglicans', Te Ara - the Encyclopedia of New Zealand, (accessed 2 December 2021)

Story by Allan K. Davidson, published 5 May 2011, reviewed & revised 20 Apr 2018