Story: Te Kōti Whenua – Māori Land Court

Native Land Court judges, 1909

Native Land Court judges, 1909

Participants sport a parade of headgear at this Native Land Court judges' conference in 1909. In the centre of the back row is Judge Walter Rawson, who became the first Native Trustee in 1920. Centre front is Native Minister James Carroll, seated between his deputy Apirana Ngata (left) and T. W. Fisher, under-secretary in the Native Department.

Using this item

Tairawhiti Museum, Te Whare Taonga O Te Tairawhiti

Permission of Tairawhiti Museum, PO Box 716, Gisborne, must be obtained before any re-use of this image.

All images & media in this story

How to cite this page:

Mere Whaanga, 'Te Kōti Whenua – Māori Land Court - The ‘taihoa’ policy, 1900–1920', Te Ara - the Encyclopedia of New Zealand, (accessed 26 January 2022)

Story by Mere Whaanga, published 20 Jun 2012