Story: Treaty of Waitangi

First Māori MPs: Tāreha Te Moananui (1st of 3)

First Māori MPs: Tāreha Te Moananui

Tāreha Te Moananui was a prominent Ngāti Kahungunu chief from the area now called Napier. He became the first member of Parliament for the Eastern Māori electorate in 1868, after supporting the government’s military actions against followers of the Pai Mārire religion.

Using this item

Alexander Turnbull Library
Reference: 1/1-019389-G

Permission of the Alexander Turnbull Library, National Library of New Zealand, Te Puna Mātauranga o Aotearoa, must be obtained before any re-use of this image.

All images & media in this story

How to cite this page:

Claudia Orange, 'Treaty of Waitangi - Māori responses to the treaty – 1880 to 1900', Te Ara - the Encyclopedia of New Zealand, (accessed 21 October 2021)

Story by Claudia Orange, published 20 Jun 2012