Story: Treaty of Waitangi

First Māori MPs: Frederick Nene Russell (2nd of 3)

First Māori MPs: Frederick Nene Russell

Frederick Nene Russell was the son of a Hokianga timber trader and his Māori second wife, Herina Tuku. In 1868 the Hokianga prophet Āperahama Taonui was chosen by northern chiefs to become the region’s first Māori member of Parliament. However, Taonui refused to stand and Frederick Nene Russell was elected unopposed.

Using this item

Hokianga History and Memorabilia

This item has been provided for private study purposes (such as school projects, family and local history research) and any published reproduction (print or electronic) may infringe copyright law. It is the responsibility of the user of any material to obtain clearance from the copyright holder.

All images & media in this story

How to cite this page:

Claudia Orange, 'Treaty of Waitangi - Māori responses to the treaty – 1880 to 1900', Te Ara - the Encyclopedia of New Zealand, (accessed 8 December 2021)

Story by Claudia Orange, published 20 Jun 2012