Story: He Whakaputanga – Declaration of Independence

Signatories to the declaration: Te Wherowhero (1st of 2)

Te Wherowhero, a chief of Waikato, is depicted sitting by a log. Also shown are Te Waru (centre) and Te Pakaru (far right). Te Wherowhero, one of the few chiefs outside Northland to sign the Declaration of Independence, was also the last to do so, in 1839. As Pōtatau Te Wherowhero, he later became the first Māori king.

Using this item

Alexander Turnbull Library
Reference: PUBL-0014-44
Tinted lithograph by George French Angas

Permission of the Alexander Turnbull Library, National Library of New Zealand, Te Puna Mātauranga o Aotearoa, must be obtained before any re-use of this image.

All images & media in this story

How to cite this page:

Basil Keane, 'He Whakaputanga – Declaration of Independence - Background to the declaration', Te Ara - the Encyclopedia of New Zealand, (accessed 18 January 2022)

Story by Basil Keane, published 20 Jun 2012