Story: He Whakaputanga – Declaration of Independence

He Whakaputanga, the Declaration of Independence

This is the Māori text of the Declaration of Independence, which was initially signed by 34 northern chiefs. There was also an English translation made of the declaration, but only the Māori version was signed. By 1839 more than 50 chiefs had signed the declaration. No further signatures were sought because of the signing of the Treaty of Waitangi in 1840.

All images & media in this story

How to cite this page:

Basil Keane, 'He Whakaputanga – Declaration of Independence - The contents of the declaration', Te Ara - the Encyclopedia of New Zealand, (accessed 27 January 2022)

Story by Basil Keane, published 20 Jun 2012