Story: Treaty of Waitangi

Treaty of Waitangi sheets: Manukau–Kāwhia (2nd of 8)

This sheet of the treaty was first taken to Manukau on 20 March 1840 by British army officer Captain William Symonds and James Hamlin of the Church Missionary Society. Just three Ngāti Whātua chiefs agreed to sign it. The sheet was later sent to Kāwhia in Waikato where another missionary, John Whiteley, gathered a further 10 signatures between April and September 1840.

All images & media in this story

How to cite this page:

Claudia Orange, 'Treaty of Waitangi - Interpretations of the Treaty of Waitangi', Te Ara - the Encyclopedia of New Zealand, (accessed 12 July 2020)

Story by Claudia Orange, published 20 Jun 2012