Story: Golf

National Open Championship, 1939

The New Zealand Open golf championship has been played, with only occasional breaks, every year since 1907 and is the leading men's golf tournament in New Zealand. An open championship can be contested by both professionals and amateurs. Zoom in to see details from the 1939 Open, played in Miramar, Wellington. A New Zealand amateur, John Hornabrook, won in that year, and in 1937. Since 1957 all winners have been professionals. The lowest score for the 72-hole competition was 266, by Swede Niclas Fasth and Briton Miles Tunnicliff in 2005. Fasth won the play-off.

Using this item

Auckland City Libraries - Tāmaki Pātaka Kōrero, Sir George Grey Special Collections
Reference: AWNS-19391115-47-1

Permission of Auckland City Libraries Tāmaki Pātaka Kōrero must be obtained before any re-use of this image.

All images & media in this story

How to cite this page:

Garry Ahern, 'Golf - Golf’s rise in popularity', Te Ara - the Encyclopedia of New Zealand, (accessed 20 January 2022)

Story by Garry Ahern, published 5 Sep 2013, updated 1 Sep 2016