Kōrero: Crabs, crayfish and other crustaceans

Classes of New Zealand crustaceans

Scientists group crustaceans into six main types, or classes, five of which are represented in New Zealand. This table lists the scientific name of each class and the common names of New Zealand examples.

Using this item

Te Ara – The Encyclopedia of New Zealand

This item has been provided for private study purposes (such as school projects, family and local history research) and any published reproduction (print or electronic) may infringe copyright law. It is the responsibility of the user of any material to obtain clearance from the copyright holder.

All images & media in this story

Me pēnei te tohu i te whārangi:

Niel Bruce and Alison MacDiarmid, 'Crabs, crayfish and other crustaceans - Crustaceans – bugs of the sea', Te Ara - the Encyclopedia of New Zealand, http://www.TeAra.govt.nz/mi/diagram/8226/classes-of-new-zealand-crustaceans (accessed 23 September 2019)

Story by Niel Bruce and Alison MacDiarmid, published 12 Jun 2006