Kōrero: Waikato region

Waikato local government

For over 100 years before 1989, Waikato territorial local government consisted of a number of county (rural) and borough (town) councils. In 1989 district councils were established which embraced both. A new district, South Waikato, was created, and former Raglan county was divided between Waikato and Franklin districts. In 2010 the southern part of Franklin district was incorporated in Waikato district, when the northern parts were annexed to the enlarged Auckland city. Environment Waikato, the regional council, was also set up in 1989. Its territory includes the whole of the Waikato region shown here, as well as Thames–Coromandel, Hauraki, Taupō and the northern King Country.

Te whakamahi i tēnei tūemi

Te Ara - The Encyclopedia of New Zealand

This item has been provided for private study purposes (such as school projects, family and local history research) and any published reproduction (print or electronic) may infringe copyright law. It is the responsibility of the user of any material to obtain clearance from the copyright holder.

Ngā whakaahua me ngā rauemi katoa o tēnei kōrero

Te tuhi tohutoro mō tēnei whārangi:

Nancy Swarbrick, 'Waikato region - Politics and social change', Te Ara - the Encyclopedia of New Zealand, http://www.TeAra.govt.nz/mi/interactive/27157/waikato-local-government (accessed 10 December 2019)

He kōrero nā Nancy Swarbrick, updated 9 Jul 2015