Kōrero: Inheritance

Ancestral inheritance and Tītī (muttonbird) islands

Some Māori hold ancestral rights which allow them to gather muttonbirds from the 36 small islands that surround Rakiura (Stewart Island), which are called the Tītī (muttonbird) Islands. Eighteen of the Tītī Islands are referred to as the Beneficial Islands, and only certain families can harvest muttonbirds from them. The harvesting season runs from 1 April to 31 May each year.

Sources: Regulation 2, Titi (Muttonbird) Islands Regulations 1978 and Schedule 106, Ngai Tahu Claims Settlement Act 1998.

See also: Muttonbirding

Te whakamahi i tēnei tūemi

Te Ara - The Encyclopedia of New Zealand

This item has been provided for private study purposes (such as school projects, family and local history research) and any published reproduction (print or electronic) may infringe copyright law. It is the responsibility of the user of any material to obtain clearance from the copyright holder.

Ngā whakaahua me ngā rauemi katoa o tēnei kōrero

Te tuhi tohutoro mō tēnei whārangi:

Ann Dupuis, 'Inheritance - Māori inheritance and succession', Te Ara - the Encyclopedia of New Zealand, http://www.TeAra.govt.nz/mi/interactive/31052/ancestral-inheritance-and-titi-muttonbird-islands (accessed 28 November 2021)

He kōrero nā Ann Dupuis, i tāngia i te 5 May 2011, reviewed & revised 3 Oct 2018