Kōrero: Marlborough region

Local government in Marlborough, 1859–2011

Marlborough became a separate province in 1859. In 1876 the province was replaced by three counties – Sounds, Marlborough and Kaikōura – but the main work of local government was carried out by roads boards or special-purpose authorities such as the Wairau River Board, which was responsible for flood control. Two boroughs were established: Blenheim in 1869 and Picton in 1876. In 1912 Awatere county was separated from Marlborough. Marlborough took over the thinly-populated Sounds county in 1965 and Awatere in 1976. In 1989 Marlborough county and the two boroughs united as Marlborough district. Kaikōura remained separate and from 1992 was covered by the Canterbury regional council, Environment Canterbury.

Te whakamahi i tēnei tūemi

Te Ara - The Encyclopedia of New Zealand

This item has been provided for private study purposes (such as school projects, family and local history research) and any published reproduction (print or electronic) may infringe copyright law. It is the responsibility of the user of any material to obtain clearance from the copyright holder.

Ngā whakaahua me ngā rauemi katoa o tēnei kōrero

Te tuhi tohutoro mō tēnei whārangi:

Malcolm McKinnon, 'Marlborough region - Government', Te Ara - the Encyclopedia of New Zealand, http://www.TeAra.govt.nz/mi/interactive/31794/local-government-in-marlborough-1859-2011 (accessed 25 October 2021)

He kōrero nā Malcolm McKinnon, updated 1 Nov 2016