Kōrero: Self-government and independence

Provincial boundaries

Initially, New Zealand was divided into six provinces: Auckland, Taranaki, Wellington, Nelson, Canterbury and Otago. A desire to have greater control of their own affairs led some regions within these provinces to call for their own province. This was allowed for under the 1852 constitution. This map shows when and where the new provinces were created.

Ngā whakaahua me ngā rauemi katoa o tēnei kōrero

Te tuhi tohutoro mō tēnei whārangi:

W. David McIntyre, 'Self-government and independence - New Zealand Constitution Act 1852', Te Ara - the Encyclopedia of New Zealand, http://www.TeAra.govt.nz/mi/interactive/32921/provincial-boundaries (accessed 19 May 2022)

He kōrero nā W. David McIntyre, i tāngia i te 20 Jun 2012