Kōrero: Electoral systems

Seats in the House of Representatives, 1914–1925

This interactive diagram shows the number of seats in the House of Representatives won by each political party in the elections of 1914, 1919, 1922 and 1925. In none of these four elections did the Reform Party (led by Bill Massey) win a majority of the popular vote. Yet in all of them except for 1922 Reform won a clear majority of the seats in Parliament. This was a consequence of the first-past-the-post voting system, which favours major parties and penalises minor parties.

Te whakamahi i tēnei tūemi

Te Ara - The Encyclopedia of New Zealand

Sources: Dieter Nohlen, Florian Grotz, and Christof Hartmann, Elections in Asia and the Pacific: a data handbook. Oxford: Oxford University Press, 2001, p. 731–734; New Zealand Election Results

Ngā whakaahua me ngā rauemi katoa o tēnei kōrero

Te tuhi tohutoro mō tēnei whārangi:

Nigel S. Roberts, 'Electoral systems - Back to first-past-the-post', Te Ara - the Encyclopedia of New Zealand, http://www.TeAra.govt.nz/mi/interactive/35671/seats-in-the-house-of-representatives-1914-1925 (accessed 18 January 2022)

He kōrero nā Nigel S. Roberts, i tāngia i te 20 Jun 2012, updated 1 Feb 2015