Kōrero: Referendums

Dry electorates, 1894–1908 (2 o 2)

This map shows the spread of 'no-licence districts' or 'dry electorates' from 1894 to 1908.

In 1894 one electorate, Clutha, voted to go dry. In 1902 two more electorates went 'dry', followed by three in 1905, and six in 1908. In 1918, a new 'dry' electorate, Roskill, was created from 'dry' Eden. Of the dry electorates, Ōhinemuri voted out 'no-licence' in 1925, becoming 'wet' again. In 1922 the 'dry' Bruce electorate was abolished and split between 'dry' Clutha and 'wet' Chalmers and Tuapeka. 1927 saw Ashburton abolished and split between two wet electorates. Boundary changes made both Wellington East and Auckland Suburbs 'dry' and created a new 'dry' seat, Auckland East. Changes in 1937 saw both Grey Lynn and Wellington Suburbs become 'wet', and the creation of a new 'dry' Wellington West electorate.

Te whakamahi i tēnei tūemi

Te Ara - The Encyclopedia of New Zealand

This item has been provided for private study purposes (such as school projects, family and local history research) and any published reproduction (print or electronic) may infringe copyright law. It is the responsibility of the user of any material to obtain clearance from the copyright holder.

Source: NZHistory

Ngā whakaahua me ngā rauemi katoa o tēnei kōrero

Te tuhi tohutoro mō tēnei whārangi:

Nigel Roberts, 'Referendums - Prohibition referendums', Te Ara - the Encyclopedia of New Zealand, http://www.TeAra.govt.nz/mi/interactive/36947/dry-electorates-1894-1908 (accessed 1 March 2021)

He kōrero nā Nigel Roberts, i tāngia i te 20 Jun 2012, reviewed & revised 30 Aug 2016, updated 1 Dec 2020