Kōrero: Children’s and young adult literature

Book of the year winners

This table shows the winners of the top award at New Zealand's children's book awards since they began as the Government Publishing Awards in 1982. The event was replaced by the AIM Children's Book Awards in 1990. Between 1990 and 1992 there was only one category and in 1993 the categories were expanded into senior fiction, junior fiction and picture books. A supreme award was not made until 1995, meaning that there were no supreme award winners in 1993 or 1994. The AIM awards were replaced by the New Zealand Post Children's Book Awards, which ran from 1997 to 2014. From 2015 the awards were called the New Zealand Book Awards for Children and Young Adults.

Te whakamahi i tēnei tūemi

Te Ara – The Encyclopedia of New Zealand

This item has been provided for private study purposes (such as school projects, family and local history research) and any published reproduction (print or electronic) may infringe copyright law. It is the responsibility of the user of any material to obtain clearance from the copyright holder.

Sources: Roger Robinson and Nelson Wattie (eds), The Oxford companion to New Zealand Literature. Auckland: Oxford University Press 1998; Booksellers New Zealand and Christchurch City Libraries

Ngā whakaahua me ngā rauemi katoa o tēnei kōrero

Te tuhi tohutoro mō tēnei whārangi:

Kerryn Pollock, 'Children’s and young adult literature - Fantasy and social realism, 1970s–2000s', Te Ara - the Encyclopedia of New Zealand, http://www.TeAra.govt.nz/mi/interactive/43168/book-of-the-year-winners (accessed 21 January 2022)

He kōrero nā Kerryn Pollock, i tāngia i te 22 Oct 2014, updated 1 Aug 2016