Kōrero: Cold War

South Pacific Nuclear-Free Zone Treaty

South Pacific Nuclear-Free Zone Treaty

The Labour government had called for the establishment of a South Pacific nuclear weapons-free zone as early as 1974. After lengthy negotiations the South Pacific Nuclear-Free Zone Treaty (Treaty of Rarotonga) was adopted by the 13 members of the South Pacific Forum on 6 August 1985, the 40th anniversary of the bombing of Hiroshima. The treaty entered into force on 11 December 1986. Since then, the nuclear weapon-possessing states of United Kingdom, China, France and Russia have signed all or some of the protocols. In 2012 United States ratification of all three protocols was pending.

Te whakamahi i tēnei tūemi

Te Ara - The Encyclopedia of New Zealand

This item has been provided for private study purposes (such as school projects, family and local history research) and any published reproduction (print or electronic) may infringe copyright law. It is the responsibility of the user of any material to obtain clearance from the copyright holder.

Source: South Pacific Nuclear-Free Zone Treaty (Treaty of Rarotonga)

Ngā whakaahua me ngā rauemi katoa o tēnei kōrero

Te tuhi tohutoro mō tēnei whārangi:

Gerald Hensley, 'Cold War - Questioning the Cold War, 1955 to 1985', Te Ara - the Encyclopedia of New Zealand, http://www.TeAra.govt.nz/mi/map/32709/south-pacific-nuclear-free-zone-treaty (accessed 26 September 2021)

He kōrero nā Gerald Hensley, i tāngia i te 20 Jun 2012