Kōrero: Local and regional government

Regional authorities, 2011

Regional authorities, 2011

Regional authorities, with responsibility for environmental and regional transport issues, are the largest units of local and regional government in New Zealand. This map shows the boundaries of the 16 regional authorities in 2011, including Auckland, Gisborne, Nelson, Marlborough and Tasman, which are unitary authorities – they function as both regional and territorial authorities.

Using this item

Te Ara - The Encyclopedia of New Zealand

This item has been provided for private study purposes (such as school projects, family and local history research) and any published reproduction (print or electronic) may infringe copyright law. It is the responsibility of the user of any material to obtain clearance from the copyright holder.

All images & media in this story

Me pēnei te tohu i te whārangi:

Mark Derby, 'Local and regional government - Local government in the 2000s', Te Ara - the Encyclopedia of New Zealand, http://www.TeAra.govt.nz/mi/map/35286/regional-authorities-2011 (accessed 17 July 2019)

Story by Mark Derby, published 20 Jun 2012, updated 17 Feb 2015