Kōrero: Law and the economy

House of Representatives

House of Representatives

The New Zealand Parliament consists of only a single chamber – the House of Representatives. In 1897, when this photograph was taken, a second chamber, the Legislative Council, also existed. However, it had little independent influence, as its members were mostly appointees of the government of the day. It was abolished in 1951.

Te whakamahi i tēnei tūemi

Alexander Turnbull Library
Reference: 1/4-015178-F

Permission of the Alexander Turnbull Library, National Library of New Zealand, Te Puna Mātauranga o Aotearoa, must be obtained before any re-use of this image.

Ngā whakaahua me ngā rauemi katoa o tēnei kōrero

Te tuhi tohutoro mō tēnei whārangi:

Lewis Evans, 'Law and the economy - Setting the framework', Te Ara - the Encyclopedia of New Zealand, http://www.TeAra.govt.nz/mi/photograph/25613/house-of-representatives (accessed 4 December 2021)

He kōrero nā Lewis Evans, i tāngia i te 11 Mar 2010