Kōrero: Parliament

Native Affairs Committee, 1912

Native Affairs Committee, 1912

Pākehā members of Parliament greatly outnumbered Māori on the Native Affairs Committee in 1912. However, at this time the Māori MPs were particularly active, working together to improve Māori health, develop land and foster traditional arts and crafts. James Carroll (middle row, second from right) was Minister of Native Affairs and the first Māori MP to win a general seat, Waiapu. He encouraged younger Māori to stand for Parliament, and in the late 19th century the so-called 'Young Māori Party' (actually a grouping of Māori MPs with differing political views) emerged. Key figures were Apirana Ngata, the member for Eastern Māori (right inset); Taare Parata, Southern Māori (back row, second from right); Māui Pōmare, Western Māori (middle row, left); and Peter Buck (Te Rangi Hīroa), Northern Māori (front row, right).

Te whakamahi i tēnei tūemi

Parliamentary Services

This item has been provided for private study purposes (such as school projects, family and local history research) and any published reproduction (print or electronic) may infringe copyright law. It is the responsibility of the user of any material to obtain clearance from the copyright holder.

Ngā whakaahua me ngā rauemi katoa o tēnei kōrero

Te tuhi tohutoro mō tēnei whārangi:

John E. Martin, 'Parliament - Evolution of Parliament, 19th century', Te Ara - the Encyclopedia of New Zealand, http://www.TeAra.govt.nz/mi/photograph/33703/native-affairs-committee-1912 (accessed 21 September 2021)

He kōrero nā John E. Martin, i tāngia i te 20 Jun 2012, updated 1 Feb 2015