Kōrero: Military medals

New Zealand Bravery Medal recipient Mark Taylor, 2011

New Zealand Bravery Medal recipient Mark Taylor, 2011

Bravery medals are primarily intended for civilians who place themselves at risk while saving or attempting to save the lives of others, but military personnel can also receive these awards when a gallantry award is not appropriate. Chief Petty Officer Mark Taylor (centre) received the New Zealand Bravery Medal in 2011 for his attempt to rescue Royal New Zealand Navy sailor Byron Solomon, who was trapped under an inflatable boat during a training exercise in 2007. Solomon drowned despite Taylor’s repeated efforts to rescue him.

Te whakamahi i tēnei tūemi

New Zealand Herald
Reference: 270711NZHBPBRAVERY10.JPG
Photograph by Brett Phibbs

Permission of the New Zealand Herald must be obtained before any re-use of this image.

Ngā whakaahua me ngā rauemi katoa o tēnei kōrero

Te tuhi tohutoro mō tēnei whārangi:

Kerryn Pollock, 'Military medals - Gallantry and bravery awards', Te Ara - the Encyclopedia of New Zealand, http://www.TeAra.govt.nz/mi/photograph/35635/new-zealand-bravery-medal-recipient-mark-taylor-2011 (accessed 29 January 2022)

He kōrero nā Kerryn Pollock, i tāngia i te 20 Jun 2012