Kōrero: Constitution

Declaration of New Zealand's dominion status, 1907

Declaration of New Zealand's dominion status, 1907

Prime Minister Joseph Ward declares New Zealand's dominion status on the steps of Parliament on 26 September 1907. New Zealand ceased to be a colony and became a dominion within the British Empire. While the shift from colony to dominion had little practical effect – New Zealand was no more independent from Britain than it had been previously – it did convey an emerging sense of independent nationhood.

Te whakamahi i tēnei tūemi

Alexander Turnbull Library, The Press (Christchurch) Collection (PAColl-3031)
Reference: 1/1-008650-G

Permission of the Alexander Turnbull Library, National Library of New Zealand, Te Puna Mātauranga o Aotearoa, must be obtained before any re-use of this image.

Ngā whakaahua me ngā rauemi katoa o tēnei kōrero

Te tuhi tohutoro mō tēnei whārangi:

Matthew Palmer, 'Constitution - Representative democracy and Parliament', Te Ara - the Encyclopedia of New Zealand, http://www.TeAra.govt.nz/mi/photograph/35916/declaration-of-new-zealands-dominion-status-1907 (accessed 22 May 2022)

He kōrero nā Matthew Palmer, i tāngia i te 20 Jun 2012