Kōrero: Law

Swearing in of new coroners

Swearing in of new coroners

Coroners (from left) Garry Evans, Sarn Herdson, Ian Smith, Gordon Matenga, Murray Jamieson and Peter Ryan are sworn in at Wellington District Court in 2007. Most of them had been part-time coroners previously, but under the Coroners Act 2006 the 55 part-time coroners were replaced by a Chief Coroner and up to 20 full-time coroners. Coroners investigate sudden and unexplained deaths, and can comment publicly about cases.

Te whakamahi i tēnei tūemi

Dominion Post
Reference: 18 June 2007
Photograph by Rob Kitchin

This item has been provided for private study purposes (such as school projects, family and local history research) and any published reproduction (print or electronic) may infringe copyright law. It is the responsibility of the user of any material to obtain clearance from the copyright holder.

Ngā whakaahua me ngā rauemi katoa o tēnei kōrero

Te tuhi tohutoro mō tēnei whārangi:

Geoffrey Palmer, 'Law - Specialist courts', Te Ara - the Encyclopedia of New Zealand, http://www.TeAra.govt.nz/mi/photograph/37005/swearing-in-of-new-coroners (accessed 15 July 2020)

He kōrero nā Geoffrey Palmer, i tāngia i te 20 Jun 2012, updated 11 Oct 2016