Kōrero: Intellectuals

Wellington authors, 1936

Wellington authors, 1936

Eleven Wellington authors are shown at a meeting in Pat Lawlor's study in December 1936. They had gathered to discuss progress on a collectively written murder mystery entitled 'Murder by eleven'. Each writer was supposed to write one chapter. The men were part of the Wellington literary community, which also included historians James Cowan and T. L. Buick, who promoted New Zealand literary endeavours in the interwar years. Many had backgrounds in journalism, and they were literary boosters rather than a circle of questioning intellectuals. Pictured are (standing, from left) Eric Bradwell, James Wilson Hogg, O. N. Gillespie, C. Stuart Perry, Victor Lloyd, Alan Mulgan, Leo Fanning, and (seated from left) C. A. L. Treadwell, Pat Lawlor, G. G. Stewart and Redmond Phillips.

Te whakamahi i tēnei tūemi

Alexander Turnbull Library, S. P. Andrew Collection (PAColl-3739)
Reference: 1/1-018216-G
Photograph by S. P. Andrew Ltd

Permission of the Alexander Turnbull Library, National Library of New Zealand, Te Puna Mātauranga o Aotearoa, must be obtained before any re-use of this image.

Ngā whakaahua me ngā rauemi katoa o tēnei kōrero

Te tuhi tohutoro mō tēnei whārangi:

Chris Hilliard, 'Intellectuals - Learned societies and journals, 1890s to 1930s', Te Ara - the Encyclopedia of New Zealand, http://www.TeAra.govt.nz/mi/photograph/42344/wellington-authors-1936 (accessed 23 January 2022)

He kōrero nā Chris Hilliard, i tāngia i te 22 Oct 2014