Kōrero: Poetry

National poetry award winners, 1976–2021

This table lists those books of poems and their authors that have won the pre-eminent national award for poetry from 1976. Until 1996 there were two sets of awards – the Wattie (later the Goodman Fielder Wattie) Awards, which had no categories and simply awarded prizes for the top three books of the year, and the New Zealand Book Awards, which did have a poetry category. In 1994 the Goodman Fielder Wattie Awards became the Montana Book Awards and a poetry category was introduced; so in 1994 and 1995 there were two sets of poetry awards. However, in 1996 the two awards merged to become the Montana New Zealand Book Awards, which then became the New Zealand Post Book Awards from 2010 to 2014. A new sponsor, property developer Ockham, was announced in 2015 with 2016 the first year of the newly-named Ockham New Zealand Book Awards. The awards give a good indication of those New Zealand poets who had a major impact during the years since 1976.

Te whakamahi i tēnei tūemi

Te Ara – The Encyclopedia of New Zealand
Reference: Roger Robinson and Nelson Wattie (eds), Oxford companion to New Zealand literature. Melbourne: Oxford University Press, 2001, pp.603-605; New Zealand Book Council; New Zealand Post Book Awards

This item has been provided for private study purposes (such as school projects, family and local history research) and any published reproduction (print or electronic) may infringe copyright law. It is the responsibility of the user of any material to obtain clearance from the copyright holder.

Ngā whakaahua me ngā rauemi katoa o tēnei kōrero

Te tuhi tohutoro mō tēnei whārangi:

John Newton, 'Poetry - Diversity: since 1985', Te Ara - the Encyclopedia of New Zealand, http://www.TeAra.govt.nz/mi/table/43100/national-poetry-award-winners-1976-2021 (accessed 6 December 2021)

He kōrero nā John Newton, i tāngia i te 22 Oct 2014