Kōrero: Motor sport

V8 Super Tourers at Pukekohe, 2012

The Super Tourer is a special category of V8 Supercar designed to keep competitor costs down. In 2012 local hero Greg Murphy won the Super Tourer three-race series at Pukekohe. This TV clip shows the first race in the series in which he came second to Scott McLaughlin. However Murphy went on to win the following  two races and the NZIGP Presidents Cup, a historic trophy dating from 1959. 

Te whakamahi i tēnei tūemi

TVNZ Television New Zealand

This item has been provided for private study purposes (such as school projects, family and local history research) and any published reproduction (print or electronic) may infringe copyright law. It is the responsibility of the user of any material to obtain clearance from the copyright holder.

Ngā whakaahua me ngā rauemi katoa o tēnei kōrero

Te tuhi tohutoro mō tēnei whārangi:

Jim Webber, 'Motor sport - Production- and saloon-car racing', Te Ara - the Encyclopedia of New Zealand, http://www.TeAra.govt.nz/mi/video/39932/v8-super-tourers-at-pukekohe-2012 (accessed 29 January 2022)

He kōrero nā Jim Webber, i tāngia i te 5 Sep 2013, updated 1 Apr 2016