Kōrero: Electoral systems

Liberal Party, 1910

This poster-sized calendar shows the Liberal Party members of Parliament in 1910, as well as the electorates (constituencies) that they represented. The MPs had been elected to the House of Representatives using the two-round or second-ballot system, in which a winning candidate had to gain an absolute majority (more than 50%) of the votes cast. If no candidate achieved this in the initial election, a second election was held a week later between the two highest-polling candidates. Joseph Ward, the prime minister and Liberal Party leader (pictured in the top middle of this poster), introduced the system in the hope of hurting minority candidates. The system was used for only two general elections – 1908 and 1911 – after which New Zealand reverted to using the first-past-the-post electoral system for its parliamentary elections.

Using this item

Alexander Turnbull Library
Reference: Eph-C-POLITICS-1910-01

Permission of the Alexander Turnbull Library, National Library of New Zealand, Te Puna Mātauranga o Aotearoa, must be obtained before any re-use of this image.

All images & media in this story

Me pēnei te tohu i te whārangi:

Nigel S. Roberts, 'Electoral systems - First-past-the-post and two-round elections', Te Ara - the Encyclopedia of New Zealand, http://www.TeAra.govt.nz/mi/zoomify/35670/liberal-party-1910 (accessed 23 September 2019)

Story by Nigel S. Roberts, published 20 Jun 2012, updated 17 Feb 2015